Analytical Division February 2016 Newsletter
Newsletter Editor Sayo Fakayode has issued the latest Newsletter. This issue includes a message from Division Chair Doug Duckworth, information about the Division's officers and councilors, a report on Division activities at the Boston Fall ACS National Meeting, plans for the ACS National Meeting in San Diego in March and the call for papers for the National Meeting in Philadephia in August, announcements for Pittcon 2016, as well as information about each of the Pittcon Award recipients, the Division members elected as ACS Fellows in 2015, information on the new Merck Awards and on resources the Division offers for students, Division Awards, and Division support for ACS Regional Meetings. There are obituaries for three members we lost in 2015: Richard A keller, Joseph Caruso, and Ruhangiz (Ruhi) Rezaaiyan.

The Division's call for papers for the ACS National Meeting in Philadelphia in August
The call for papers for the 252nd ACS National Meeting has just been issued. Joel Harris and Lane Baker are the Program Chairs for the Division for this meeting and have organized a large and comprehensive program with 42 planned sessions. The program includes jointly organized sessions with other Divisions such as BIOL, CINF, COLL, MEDI, PHYS and POLY and the Multidisciplinary Program Planning Group (MPPG) which is chosen as the theme for this meeting "Chemistry of the People, by the People, and for the People". You can submit papers using your ACS Network ID and password, but must do so by the deadline of March 21, 2016.

The Division's program for Pittcon 2016
The Division is sponsoring nine symposia at Pittcon in Atlanta, March 6 through 10, 2016. There also will be a poster session on Sunday evening. On Wednesday the Satinder Ahuja Award for Young Investigators in Separation Sciences will be presented to Matthew D Miller of The Dow Chemical Company.

Kolthoff Travel Awards for 2016 announced
The Division is pleased to announce the recipients of the I. M. Kolthoff Enrichment Awards for Undergraduate Students for 2016. The students will present their research at the Pittcon 2016 in Atlanta:

  • Catherine Mason, North Carolina State University, Mentor: Leslie Sombers
  • Patrick Pysz, University of Arkansas, Mentor: Julie Stenken
  • Wuliang Zhang, University of Michigan, Mentor: Raoul Kopelman

ACS National Awards to Division Members
The Division of Analytical Chemistry has been selected by the recipients to present their award address for (1) ACS Award for Encouraging Disadvantaged Students into Careers in the Chemical Sciences by Luis A. Colón, University at Buffalo, The State University of New York, (2) ACS Award in Analytical Chemistry sponsored by Battelle Memorial Institute by William R. Heineman, University of Cincinnati, and (3) ACS Award in Chromatography sponsored by Supelco/Sigma-Aldrich by Harold M. McNair, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University.

Long Range Program Planning Committee
The Division now has a long range program planning committee. The members are:

  • Joel Harris (University of Utah) co-Chair;
  • Lane Baker (Indiana University) co-Chair
  • Doug Duckworth (PNNL) ex-Officio
  • Cindy Larive (University of California-Riverside)
  • Michael Heien (University of Arizona)
  • Alexandra Ros (Arizona State University)
  • Matthew Bush (University of Washington)
  • Yong Zeng (University of Kansas)
  • Karen Phinney (NIST)


From the chair, Doug Duckworth

Division of Analytical Chemistry Members,

It is an honor and privilege to serve as the chair of the Division of Analytical Chemistry (DAC) this year. I appreciate the opportunity to serve alongside you in what I think will be an exciting year for the division.

I want to give my sincere thanks to Susan Olesik for her service as Chair of the division and her support as I have transitioned into the role. Beyond the routine division support activities, Susan has had a strong commitment and vision for strengthening our technical programs at National ACS meetings and Co-Sponsored Pittcon Symposia. Through her leadership, we have established a Long Range Program Planning Committee that is led by Joel Harris (2016 Technical Program Chair) and Lane Baker (LRPP Committee Chair). I think the impact of this change will be evident in upcoming technical programs and will be an ongoing legacy of Susan's leadership.

Moving forward and following on Susan's efforts, I want to continue to improve the DAC membership experience. At the Fall ACS meeting we began to develop an updated Strategic Plan for the Analytical Division. Already, we have revised our Vision and Mission Statements as follows:

Vision: To shape the future through advancing the science of chemical characterization and measurement.

Mission: To promote the science of analytical chemistry and the careers of its practitioners by providing enhanced professional opportunities, educating members and society, and building bridges between scientific fields.

From this Mission Statement several overarching Goals of the DAC emerge — Professional Development, Advocacy and Outreach, Communication, and Programming. I envision a Strategic Planning Committee and sub-structure being commissioned that will include Focus Teams for each of these goals. This represents a lot of work and the need for volunteers. It will also give members a great opportunity to engage in and shape the future of the DAC.

In my role as DAC Technical Program Chair, I was very impressed with the number and quality of our volunteers, and I am greatly appreciative of your contributions. As we move forward, the DAC seeks to engage even more volunteers to support our strategic planning and activities. If you are interested in participating, please let us know. We will address specific needs as they arise.

I look forward to a great year. Thank you for supporting the ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry.

Doug Duckworth, Chair

Division News

Join ACS and the Division of Analytical Chemistry

Become a Member of the Division of Analytical Chemistry

DAC Patrons

Support Analytical Sciences


ASDL - your peer reviewed library for the analytical sciences